Monday, October 7, 2013

Who Is Your Favorite Nobel Prize Winning Author?

Who is your favorite Nobel Prize winning author? The Nobel Prize for Literature website listed the “Most Popular Literature Laureates” on its website, and some of the names might surprise you.

Book Review-Nobel PrizeThis blogger's favorite winner is Winston Churchill's The Second World War, given in 1953.  Run down the list to see if there is one that draws you.
Since 1901, 105 Nobel Prizes in Literature have been awarded to 109 laureates. The average age of these laureates is 64 years old and only 12 women have received the prestigious prize.
Below, is the the entire list–complete with links to their biographies at the Nobel Prize website.

YearAuthor Famous for
1901Sully PrudhommeParnassian poetry
1902Theodor MommsenHistory of Rome
1903Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson Synnöve Solbakken
1904José EchegarayEl gran Galeoto
1904 Frédéric Mistral MIRÈIO
1905Henryk SienkiewiczQuo vadis
1906 Giosuè CarducciRime Nuove (New Rhymes) , Odi Barbare (Barbarian Odes)
1907 Rudyard Kipling Jungle Books
1908Rudolf Eucken The Problem of Human Life as Viewed by the Great Thinkers
1909 Selma LagerlöfThe Wonderful Adventures of Nils
1910Paul Heyse Children of the World
1911Maurice MaeterlinckThe Blue Bird
1912 Gerhart HauptmannDie Weber
1913 Rabindranath Tagore Gitanjali
1915 Romain Rolland Le Théâtre du peuple
1916 Verner von Heidenstam Karolinerna
1917 Henrik Pontoppidan Lucky Peter
1917 Karl GjellerupThe German Student
1919 Carl Spitteler Olympian Spring
1920 Knut HamsunGrowth of the Soil
1921 Anatole FranceThe Crime of Sylvestre Bonnard
1922 Jacinto Benavente The Bonds of Interest
1923William Butler Yeats The Wild Swans at Coole
1924 Wladyslaw Reymont Chłopi
1925 George Bernard Shaw Arms and the Man
1926 Grazia Deledda Anime Oneste
1927 Henri Bergson The Two Sources of Morality and Religion
1928Sigrid Undset Kristin Lavransdatter
1929 Thomas Mann Buddenbrooks
1930 Sinclair Lewis Arrowsmith
1931 Erik Axel Karlfeldt Arcadia Borealis
1932 John Galsworthy The Forsyte Saga
1933 Ivan Bunin The Gentleman from San Francisco
1934 Luigi Pirandello Lumie di Sicilia
1936 Eugene O'Neill Anna Christie
1937 Roger Martin du Gard Les Thibault
1938 Pearl Buck The Good Earth
1939 Frans Eemil SillanpääPeople in the Summer Night
1944 Johannes V. Jensen Poems 1906
1945 Gabriela Mistral Piececitos de Niño
1946 Hermann Hesse Siddhartha
1947 André GideFruits of the Earth
1948T.S. EliotThe Waste Land
1949William FaulknerThe Sound and the Fury
1950Bertrand Russell A History of Western Philosophy
1951Pär LagerkvistFruits of the Earth
1952 François Mauriac Thérèse
1953Winston ChurchillThe Second World War
1954 Ernest HemingwayThe Old Man and the Sea
1955 Halldór Laxness Independent People
1956Juan Ramón Jiménez Platero and I
1957 Albert CamusThe Plague
1958Boris Pasternak Doctor Zhivago
1959Salvatore QuasimodoGiorno Dopo Giorno
1960 Saint-John PerseExile
1961 Ivo Andric Anxieties
1962 John Steinbeck The Grapes of Wrath
1963 Giorgos Seferis Turning Point
1964 Jean-Paul Sartre Nausea
1965 Mikhail SholokhovAnd Quiet Flows the Don
1966 Nelly Sachs Eli: A Mystery Play of the Sufferings of Israel
1966 Shmuel Agnon The Bridal Canopy
1967 Miguel Angel AsturiasThe President
1968 Yasunari Kawabata Snow Country
1969Samuel Beckett Waiting for Godot
1970 Alexandr Solzhenitsyn One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich
1971 Pablo Neruda Canto General
1972 Heinrich Böll Billiards at Half-past Nine
1973 Patrick White Riders in the Chariot
1974Harry Martinson Aniara
1974 Eyvind Johnson Here is Your Life!
1975 Eugenio Montale Occasions
1976 Saul Bellow The Adventures of Augie March
1977 Vicente Aleixandre Shadow of Paradise
1978 Isaac Bashevis Singer Gimpel the Fool
1979 Odysseus Elytis Worthy It Is
1980 Czeslaw Milosz The Captive Mind
1981 Elias Canetti Crowds and Power
1982 Gabriel García Márquez One Hundred Years of Solitude
1983 William GoldingLord of the Flies
1984 Jaroslav Seifert The Plague Column
1985 Claude Simon The Flanders Road
1986 Wole Soyinka The Bacchae of Euripides
1987 Joseph BrodskyLove Song
1988 Naguib Mahfouz Chitchat on the Nile
1989 Camilo José Cela The Hive
1990 Octavio Paz Collected Poems, 1957–1987
1991 Nadine Gordimer The Conservationist
1992 Derek WalcottOmeros
1993 Toni Morrison Beloved
1994 Kenzaburo OeA Personal Matter
1995 Seamus Heaney The Spirit Level
1996 Wislawa Szymborska Some Like Poetry
1997 Dario Fo Archangels Don't Play Pinball
1998 José SaramagoBaltasar and Blimunda
1999Günter Grass The Tin Drum
2000 Gao Xingjian One Man's Bible
2001 V. S. NaipaulIn a Free State
2002 Imre KertészFatelessness
2003 J. M. Coetzee Disgrace
2004 Elfriede JelinekThe Piano Teacher
2005 Harold Pinter The Birthday Party
2006 Orhan Pamuk The Black Book
2007 Doris Lessing The Grass is Singing
2008 Jean-Marie Gustave Le ClézioThe Interrogation
2009 Herta MüllerThe Land of Green Plums

*This information is also provided at GalleyCat by Jason Boog.

No comments:

Post a Comment