Monday, January 23, 2012

And the Newbery and Caldecott Medal Winners Are...

Jack Gantos' "Dead End in Norvelt" has won the John Newbery Medal for the best children's book of 2011. Chris Raschka's "A Ball for Daisy" won the Randolph Caldecott award for best illustrated story.

Dead End in NorveltGantos' novel follows the humorous adventures of a boy named Jack Gantos, grounded "for life" by his parents and prone to the most gushing nosebleeds. But he is restored by the stories he learns about his hometown, Norvelt, a planned community in Pennsylvania founded during the Great Depression.

Raschka's wordless picture book, told through watercolor, ink and gouache, recounts the saga of a dog whose beloved red ball is stolen by a bigger dog. The ball bursts and Daisy's spirit seems to break with it, until the other dog returns with a blue ball that is better than ever!

The Newbery and Caldecott prizes, the most prestigious in children's literature, were announced Monday by the American Library Association. Gantos' novel follows the improbable adventures of a boy named "Jack Gantos," while Raschka's picture book recounts the saga of a dog whose favorite toy is destroyed.

A Ball for DaisyBoth winners are well established in children's publishing. Gantos has been a finalist for the Newbery and National Book Award. Raschka won the Caldecott in 2006 for "The Hello, Goodbye Window."
Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults:
Where Things Come Back,” written by John Corey Whaley, (Atheneum Books, 2011).

Coretta Scott King (author) Book Award recognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults:
Kadir Nelson, author and illustrator of “Heart and Soul: The Story of America and African Americans,” (Balzer + Bray, 2011).

Coretta Scott King (illustrator) Book Award:
Shane W. Evans, illustrator and author of “Underground: Finding the Light to Freedom,” (Neal Porter Book, 2011).

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience:
Two books were selected for the middle school award (ages 9 to 13): “Close to Famous,” written by Joan Bauer (Viking, 2011).
Wonderstruck,” written by Brian Selznick, (Scholastic Press, 2011).
The teen (ages 14 to 18) award winner is “The Running Dream,” written by Wendelin Van Draanen, (Alfred A. Knopf, 2011).

Andrew Carnegie Medal for excellence in children’s video:
Paul R. Gagne and Melissa Reilly Ellard of Weston Woods Studios, Inc., producers of “Children Make Terrible Pets.” The video is based on the book written by Peter Brown.

Odyssey Award for best audiobook produced for children and/or young adults, available in English in the United States:
Rotters,” produced Listening Library. The book is written by Daniel Kraus and narrated by Kirby Heyborne.

Congratulations to you all!

No comments:

Post a Comment